Distinguished Achievement Award

The ANS Distinguished Achievement Award is an occasional award for an outstanding contribution by an individual to neuroscience in Australia or New Zealand, and to the Australasian Neuroscience Society. It is the highest honour conferred by the Society. The Award was founded in 1992 and was first awarded in 1993 to Lawrie Austin, the foundation President of ANS (1980 - 1981). The award is a bronze medallion designed and struck by the acclaimed Melbourne sculptor Michael Meszaros, depicting the artist's view of the chain of connections between the brain, the organism and the outside world. The medallion is depicted to the right.

Candidates for this Award would typically satisfy most of the following criteria:
• A distinguished neuroscientist who has rendered notable service to the society,
• recipient of a major international scientific award,
• made major discoveries that have advanced the understanding of the nervous system.
• made an exemplary contribution to mentoring young scientists

Candidates for Distinguished Achievement Awards are elected directly by Council. Any ANS member can formally propose a candidate for nomination by the Council for a Distinguished Achievement Award. This proposal should be forwarded to the ANS Secretary and should include the following:
1. An abbreviated CV of the candidate (10 pages max)
2. A letter outlining the candidate’s main contributions in each of the 4 criteria listed above. (5 pages maximum)
There is no deadline for nominations.

Distinguished Achievement Award Holders

  • 2023 - Marcello Costa
  • 2021 - Laurence Geffen
  • 2018 - Charles Watson
  • 2017 - Alan Mackay-Sim
  • 2015 - Fred Mendelsohn
  • 2015 - George Paxinos
  • 2014 - Perry Bartlett
  • 2009 - David Curtis
  • 2006 - Elspeth McLachlan
  • 2003 - John Furness
  • 2001 - Max Bennett
  • 2000 - Stephen Redman
  • 1991 - Lawrie Austin