ANS Young Researcher Awards

Awarded to student members of ANS to both recognize outstanding scientific contributions and assist in defraying ANS meeting costs.
Read More

ANS Awards

Awarded to ANS members who provide outstanding contributions to both the society and to neuroscience within Australia
Read More

Non-ANS Awards

Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

The annual Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology is an international award which honors young scientists for their outstanding contributions to neurobiological research based on methods of molecular and cell biology. The winner and finalists are selected by a committee of independent scientists, chaired by Science’s Senior Editor, Dr. Peter Stern. Researchers who are not older than 35 years are invited to apply.

The winner receives

  • Prize money of US$25,000

  • Publication in Science of an essay by the winner about his/her research

  • Full support to attend the Prize Ceremony held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Society for Neuroscience in the USA
  • An invitation to visit Eppendorf in Hamburg, Germany

Up to three finalists are honored, too!

Application deadline: June 15, 2017

Congratulations to Gilad Evrony on winning the 2016 Eppendorf & Science Prize for his work on developing technologies to sequence and analyze the genomes of single cells from the human brain. Dr. Evrony’s research has revealed a diversity of mutations in neuronal genomes indicating that every neuron in the brain carries a unique fingerprint of somatic mutations. Such mutations can cause focal brain malformations and may have a role in other unsolved neurologic diseases. The technology also allows, for the first time, reconstruction of developmental lineage trees in the human brain to study how cells proliferate and migrate to build the brain.

It’s easy to apply!
Learn more at

Society For Neuroscience Brain Awareness Video Contest

Communicate your science on video for a chance to win $1000 and a trip to Neuroscience 2017 in Washington D.C!

Click here for more information.

Georgina Sweet Awards for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science

Georgina Sweet Award for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Science: Up to two awards of $25,000 will be made each year to female researchers who demonstrate excellence in the area of quantitative biomedical science. Closing date for applications for this year’s awards is 31 July 2016.

Georgina Sweet Travel Support for a Female Keynote Speaker in Quantitative Biomedical Science: Up to three awards of $3,000 are available each year to support attendance of a female keynote speaker at an Australian quantitative biomedical science conference. Applications are open at any time until awards have been allocated for the year.

Both awards have been created as part of Professor Leann Tilley’s Laureate Fellowship (Bio21 Molecular Science and Biotechnology Institute, The University of Melbourne) commitment to foster, support and promote female researchers in quantitative biomedical sciences. Applications are open to researchers within Australia.

Application guidelines and forms for both awards are available here.

For further queries, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Keio Medical Science Prize

Awarded in the fields of basic medicine, clinical medicine, or life sciences closely related to medicine - 10 Million Yen

Closing date: 8 March 2016

V. Ambartsumian international Prize

Is awarded to outstanding scientists having significant contribution in physical-mathematical sciences from any country and nationality – USD $ 500,000

Closing date: 18 March 2016

Prime Minister's Prizes for Science

Nominations are sought for Australia's national science and teaching awards: the $300,000 Prime Minister's Prize for Science; the $50,000 Science Minister's Prize for Life Scientist of the Year; the $50,000 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year; the $50,000 Prime Minister's Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools; the $50,000 Prime Minister's Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools.

Closing date: to be announced shortly, usually in March

Wise Prize for Education

Awarded for significant and lasting impact upon education at any level, demonstrating an inspiring and visionary approach – US $500,000

Closing date: to be announced shortly, usually in March

Young Tall Poppy Science Awards

Recognising research achievements in the sciences including engineering, mathematics, medical research and technology, alongside a passion and capacity to communicate science to the community. Nominations are for scientists under 35 years of age.

Closing date – 11 April 2016

International Prize for Biology

Recognising research in the field of Biology. Field of award in 2016 is Biology of Biodiversity - 10 Million Yen

Closing date: 22 April 2016

Science Excellence Awards SA

Awarded to high achievers in research, industry and education in South Australia. The South Australian Scientist of the Year will receive $25 000 prize money and winners of all other categories will receive $10 000

Closing date: 29 April 2016

Mahathir Science Award

Awarded to an individual or group in recognition of contributions and innovations towards solving problems in the tropics through Science, Technology and Innovation in 1) tropical medicine; 2) tropical agriculture; 3) tropical architecture and engineering; and 4) tropical natural resources - US $100,000

Closing date: 30 April 2016

King Faisal International Prize

Prizes in different fields of science and medicine - US $200 000.

Closing date - 1 May 2016

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

Awarding excellence in the fields of : research & innovation, leadership, science communication and school science - $10 000

Closing date - 6 May 2016

CSL Young Florey Medal

The 2016 CSL Young Florey Medal will be awarded to an Australian biomedical researcher for significant early career achievements in biomedical science and/or human health advancement for research conducted primarily in Australia

Closing date: 30 May 2016

Prince Mahidol Award

Awarded to individual(s) or institutions(s) for their outstanding performance and/or research in medicine that contributes directly to the betterment of society. There will be one award in medicine and one in public health - US $100,000

Closing date - 31 May 2016

Bower Award and Prize for achievement in Science

Awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to understanding and quantifying perturbations of natural systems within the biosphere, atmosphere, or hydrosphere in the age of the Anthropocene - US $250,000

Closing date - 31 May 2016

Please also note that an annual calendar of external awards and prizes can be found on the Australian Academy of Science website.

Read More