

ANS Terms of Reference - Committee for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

ANS_002.6_Terms of Reference - Equity Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Purpose of the Committee

1. To ensure diverse and equitable representation within the Australasian

Neuroscience Society (ANS), and, in particular, to promote equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) at:

- a. The ANS Annual Scientific Meeting
- b. The ANS Annual Prize nominations and selection
- c. Other ANS-based initiatives

2. To advocate, individually and in collaboration with other relevant scientific and medical societies, to improve EDI in neuroscience and biomedical research in Australasia.

3. Additional information related to the purpose of the Committee is explained in the policy document.

Committee Membership

- 4. The Committee consists of 5-8 Members:
 - i. The Committee has one Chair, one Deputy Chair, and other members.
 - ii. A membership term is two years.

iii. Membership can be renewed for one additional term, resulting in total service of four years.

iv. The Chair serves for a maximum of two full terms (i.e. the equivalent of four years) and may stay on the committee for one additional year after this (even if this exceeds four years of service total) to provide continuity. Periods of career disruption where the Deputy Chair is asked to step in as Acting Chair will not count towards the total period of service.

v. The Chair or Deputy Chair will attend ANS Council meetings. This person brings EDI issues to each meeting of ANS Council. EDI committee meetings are timetabled to precede Council meetings.

vi. Where feasible, the Committee will include at least one early career member (student or researcher within five years of receiving a PhD).

vii. EDI committee members will be appointed following current committee member discussion and agreement. Prospective members will submit an expression of interest to the Chair, either through direct approach or following a special call for members via the ANS newsletter, social media channels, etc.

viii. The members of the Committee should represent the geographical, gender, and career stage diversity of all ANS members.

Specific Member Responsibilities

5. The Chair will, in consultation with the Deputy Chair, create agendas for allCommittee meetings and distribute these to Members prior to the meeting. The Chair will chair all meetings of the Committee, ensuring all Members are afforded equal opportunity to speak and contribute to discussion and decision-making.

6. The Deputy Chair will take on the responsibilities of the Chair and become Acting Chair through appointment by the Chair (e.g. during a period of career disruption) or in extenuating circumstances which prevent the Chair from fulfilling their duties.

7. In the event that the Deputy Chair is unable to fulfil the role of Acting Chair, the Chair (or Deputy Chair, if necessary) will appoint a temporary acting chair from among the other committee members.

8. The Chair or the Deputy Chair will create minutes for all meetings of the Committee and distribute to all Members following each meeting.

9. The Chair or the Deputy Chair will attend ANS Council meetings to provide updates on Committee activities/initiatives and to provide EDI input to Council/Society activities.

10. The Chair or the Deputy Chair will assist the ANS President, ANS President-elect or ANS Council on an *ad hoc* basis with requests to the Society for input on EDI-relevant matters and will bring these matters to the Committee for further discussion where appropriate.

11. The Committee will gather, collate, discuss and interpret equity and diversity data

from the ANS membership. They will either directly assess or be consulted by the relevant members of Council/annual meeting LOC to ensure EDI balance is maintained in prize nominations and awards, annual meeting speakers (including plenary, Symposium speakers, Symposium chairs and invited oral speakers), and other ANS initiatives.

12. The Committee will discuss and assist with applications for grants from external organisations to support and promote EDI activities within the ANS annual meeting and other ANS initiatives.

13. The Committee will promote EDI-relevant issues at the ANS annual meeting in various formats, which may include, but is not limited to, an EDI-focused panel event, an EDI-focused symposium, poster presentation(s) on EDI-relevant issues.

14. The Committee will promote communication of Society EDI activities to the wider membership and the public through a variety of channels, which may include, but is not limited to, the EDI Committee page on the ANS website, ANS newsletter articles and ANS social media channels.

15. The Committee will initiate and be responsible for the planning, carrying out and evaluation of EDI initiatives (e.g. Indigenous travel awards). Where feasible, the Committee will be provided with an annual budget from the ANS to carry out such initiatives.

16. The Committee will advocate, individually and in collaboration with other relevant scientific and medical societies, to improve EDI in neuroscience and biomedical research in Australasia. This may include, but is not limited to, advocacy at the Society, institution, funding body (e.g. NHMRC/ARC), government or societal level.

Committee Meetings and Current Membership

16. Committee meetings will be held every other month, prior to ANS Council meetings, for a total of six meetings per year.

17. The quorum for a meeting of the Committee consists of the Chair or Acting Chair and at least three other Members, where all Members have been given at least seven calendar days notice of the meeting.

18. A meeting of the Committee may not proceed in the absence of either the Chair or Acting Chair.

19. The Chair or Acting Chair shall, after relevant meetings of the Committee, report to the ANS Council on the conduct, status, and progress –

i. of any matters referred to the Committee by the ANS President, ANS

President-elect, or the ANS Council

ii. of any other matter which the Committee agrees should be reported to the ANS President, ANS President-elect or the ANS Council

iii. of the current status of Committee initiatives

20. Current members

- Lyndsey Collins-Praino, Chair (University of Adelaide; <u>lyndsey.collins-praino@adelaide.edu.au</u>)
- Johanna Montgomery, Deputy Chair (University of Auckland; jm.montgomery@auckland.ac.nz)

- Heather Macpherson (University of Queensland/Queensland Brain Institute, <u>h.macpherson@uq.edu.au</u>)
- Lizzie Manning (University of Newcastle; <u>lizzie.manning@newcastle.edu.au</u>)
- Michelle Rank (University of Melbourne; michelle.rank@unimelb.edu.au)
- Ethan Scott (University of Melbourne; ethan.scott@unimelb.edu.au)
- Melissa Sharpe (University of Sydney; melissa.sharpe@sydney.edu.au)
- Adele Woodhouse (University of Tasmania, adele.woodhouse@utas.edu.au)

Version Information

Written: April 7th, 2017

Edited: April 13th, 2017; July 5th, 2019; October 3rd, 2024; February 10, 2025

Ratified: by ANS Council, 1 December 2024