National Brain Bee Challenge

Round 3 is the National Final where 7 Australian students and 2 New Zealand students compete against each other to become the Australian Brain Bee Challenge Champion, or the New Zealand Brain Bee Challenge Champion. 

Students compete in 4 challenges, held over 2 days including an anatomy challenge, a written short answer challenge, a patient diagnosis challenge and a live question and answer challenge. Students also have the opportunity to attend ANS scientific sessions and meet with scientists, researchers and students involved in neuroscience.

2016 National Finals

The 2016 National Finals for the Australian and New Zealand Brain Bee Challenges were held at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Hobart, December 2016. The event occurred in parallel with the 2016 Australasian Neuroscience Society meeting, giving competitors a fantastic opportunity to immerse themselves in the latest neuroscience research from all over Australia, and attend seminars from leading national and international neuroscience researchers.

Back row: from left to right: Anthony Tew, Joe Hedger, Lily Haley, Jonathan Lee, Stefan Ivanov, Shambhavi Mishra. Front row from Left to right: Jenny Rodger, Risini Gamage, Tatiana Kurniawan, Alysha Wanigaratne, Daniel Wei, Charles Watson.

In a closely fought contest the winner of the Australian Brain Bee Challenge was Risini Gamage from New South Wales, while Stefan Ivanov was the New Zealand winner. 

Photo from left: Professor Charles Watson (ABBC Judge and Facilitator), Stefan Ivanov (New Zealand winner), Risini Gamage (Australian winner), A/Prof Jenny Roger (Acting Coordinator, ABBC).


2015 National Finals 

The National Finals for the 2015 Australian and New Zealand Brain Bee Challenges were held at Western Sydney University in December, 2015. The event coincided with the sixth Sensory Neuroscience Symposium for Western Australian Neurosciences (SWAN) meeting, which gave finalists a great opportunity to see and hear some of the latest developments in neuroscience.

2015 International Australian Brain Bee Champion Jade Pham (2014 NSW and 2014 Australian Brain Bee Champion).



2015 Australian National Champion Onur Tanglay (Sydney Secondary College, Balmain, NSW)    
2015 New Zealand Champion Matthew Fulton (Auckland Grammar School, Newmarket, Auckland)    





Read More

2015-2016 Australian National Finalists

Read More

2015-2016 New Zealand Finalists

Read More

Our National Champions 2006-2014

Read More