Please login here to Members Area for webinar details. 

Download a printable timetable of webinars.

Sponsored by:


There is a unique opportunity to present your research at the ANS2020 EMCR Webinar Series.

ANS is committed to providing EMCRs with opportunities to present their research despite the unfortunate cancellation of ANS2020 in Perth. We recognise that for many EMCRs, speaking at conferences, such as the annual ANS meeting, is necessary to raise their researcher profile among colleagues and discuss advancements in their neuroscience research. The EMCR committee have initiated a limited webinar series, which has been integrated into the ANS2020 Online program and is available for live stream to all ANS members. 

We are looking for EMCR speakers (0-10 years post-PhD) who are motivated to conduct a 10 min presentation for the ANS membership on October 5 or December 7, 2020. If you are interested in presenting your research please click here for the template and send a brief abstract to the committee chair, Rebecca San Gil (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.), before C.O.B. 28th August, 2020.

9th November 2020 (12-1:30pm Australian EDST): Rethinking energy balance: Neural circuits, peptides and mechanisms

  • Chair: Zhi Yi Ong
  • Speakers:
    • Amber L Alhadeff - Gut signaling engages coordinated homeostatic and reward circuitry
    • Chi Kin (Kenny) Ip - Transcriptomic profiling of NPYergic neurons in the central amygdala under chronic stress induced obesity
    • Garron Dodd - Intranasal Targeting Hypothalamic PTP1B and TCPTP Reinstates Leptin and Insulin Sensitivity and Promotes Weight Loss in Obesity
    • Sarah H Lockie - Targeting central feeding circuits to improve outcomes in cancer cachexia

7th December 2020 (12pm Australian EST): ANS EMCR Webinar

  • Chair: Luke McAlary, Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute (IHMRI), University of Wollongong, NSW
  • Speakers:
    • TBA

9th December 2020 (10-5:30pm Australian EDST) - PROGRAM

  • Chair: Cliff Abraham
  • Speakers:
      • Chair: Professor Cliff Abraham
      • Speakers:

      10:00-10:15am: Professor  Cliff Abraham (President’s Welcome)

      10:15-10:45am: 2020 AW Campbell Plenary Lecture

      10:45-11:15am: 2020 Nina Kondelos Award Lecture

      11:15-12:15pm: Professor Kate DrummondANS2020 Eccles Plenary Lecture

       Quality if Life in Brain Tumour Patients - Do we understand it and what can we do about it?

      12:15-12:45pm: Dr Philip Ryan2019 A.W Campbell Plenary Lecture

       ‘The neurocircuitry of fluid satiation’

      12:45-1:15pm: Lunch break / Break-out chats

      1:15-1:45pm:     Prof Erica Fletcher 2019 Nina Kondelos Award Lecture

      ‘The role of microglia in regulating retinal homeostasis’

      1:45-2:15pm:     PhD student 3-minute thesis finalists and announcement of the competition winners

      2:15-2:45pm:     Announcement of ANS Award recipients

      2:45-3:00pm:     Tea break

      3:00-5:30pm:     ANS Annual General Meeting

ABCAM LOGO 443C JPGBrain Function ARC and name under

Past webinars:

2nd June 2020 (12pm Australian EST) : ANS EMCR Webinar

  • Host: Rebecca San Gil, Queensland Brain Institute, University of Queensland, Brisbane, QLD
  • Speakers:
    • Dr Joanna Yau – Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of New South Wales. The role of basolateral amygdala parvalbumin neurons in aversive prediction error.
    • Mr Paul Marshall – Senior PhD Candidate, Queensland Brain Institute, University of Queensland. Dynamic regulation of Z-DNA in the mouse prefrontal cortex is required for fear extinction.
    • Dr Iris Wang – Assistant Professor, Shanghai Tech University. New Approaches to Study Axon Injury and Degeneration in Central Nervous System

15th June 2020 (12-1:30pm Australian EST): New insights into the nature of pain mechanisms and potential clinical and translational advances

Chair: Andrew Gundlach

  • Greg Neely
  • Nicholas Veldhuis
  • Irina Vetter

 13th July 2020 (11:55am - 1:30pm AEST):  Brain injury in vulnerable populations

Chair: Sandy Shultz

  • Paul Van Donkelaar & Karen Mason: Exploring Incidence, Consequences, and Supports for Women Survivors of Traumatic Brain Injury in Intimate Partner Violence
  • Stuart McDonald: Diagnostic and recovery biomarkers for mild TBI: New insights from athletes and rodents
  • Melinda Fitzgerald: Predicting poor outcomes following mild traumatic brain injury

 3rd August 2020 (12pm Australian EST): ANS EMCR Webinar

  • Host: Juliette Cheyne, Centre for Brain Research, University of Auckland, Auckland, NZ
  • Speakers:
    • Dr Eduardo Albornoz Balmaceda, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Queensland, Peripheral immune contributions to neuroinflammation
    • Mr Simon Maksour, PhD Candidate, Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute, University of Wollongong, Expression profiling REST and RCOR genes in neurogenesis using 2D and 3D human pluripotent stem cell models
    • Dr Yukti Vyas, Postdoctoral Research Fellow,​ University of Auckland, Influence of maternal high zinc diet on the development of Autism-associated behavioural and synaptic deficits in Shank3-knockout mice
    • Zhi Yi Ong, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of New South Wales, Hindbrain noradrenergic circuits in food intake control        

10th August 2020 (2pm Australian EST): Perth LOC Symposium

  • Co-Chairs: Dr Nathalie Dehoerter and Dr Virginie Lam
  • Speakers:
    • Prof Zoltán Molnár, University of Oxford
    • Prof Orly Reiner, Weizmann Institute of Science
    • Dr Saskia Freytag, Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, University of Western Australia (WA)
    • Dr Julian Heng, Curtin University (WA)

Information on how to access the presentations will be available on the new members-only area. Please login here.

14th September 2020 (12-1:30pm Australian EST): Digital approaches to neuroscience education

  • Co-Chairs: Alison Canty and Kristin Hillman
  • Speakers:
    • Prof Charles Watson, University of New South Wales and the University of Queensland
    • A/Prof Alison Canty, University of Tasmania
    • A/Prof Lyndsey Collins-Praino, University of Adelaide
    • Professor Ramesh Rajan, Monash University


12th October 2020 (12-1:30pm Australian AEST): Molecular insights into neuropsychiatric disorders

  • Chair: Kai Sempert
  • Speakers:
    • Cecilia Flores - Drugs of abuse in adolescence target the Netrin-1/DCC system to disrupt prefrontal cortex development
    • Helen Cooper - Understanding the role of actin-related autism genes in cortical development
    • Nathalie Dehorter - Overcoming the Cognitive and Motor Deficits in the Cntnap2 Mouse Model of Autism
    • Jozef Gecz - Stop the nonsense: Nonsense-mediated mRNA decay as a cellular ‘mRNA policeman’ and a fundamental regulator of brain development and function


19th October 2020 (12pm Australian EST): ANS EMCR Webinar

  • Host: Brenton Hordacre, University of South Australia, Adelaide, SA
  • Speakers:
    • 12.05pm - Dr Cherry Mao, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Modelling of SCN2A encephalopathies using human stem cell-derived neurons
    • 12.20pm - Sarah Broome, PhD Candidate, University of Technology Sydney, Targeting neuroinflammation in Parkinson’s disease
    • 12.30pm - Dr Stephanie Rayner, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Macquarie University, Rapid, unbiased identification of protein inclusion components from patient post-mortem brain tissue using Biotinylation by Antibody Recognition (BAR)
    • 12.45pm - Jessica Moretti, PhD Candidate, Perron Institute for Neurological and Translational Sciences, Concurrent LI-rTMS induces changes in c-fos expression but not behavioural effects during a progressive ratio task with adult ephrin-A2A5-/- mice