Neuroscience Education and Outreach Committee

TERMS OF REFERENCE

1. Purpose of the Committee

To provide a platform for ANS members to share knowledge surrounding tertiary teaching of neuroscience.

2. Committee Membership

- i. The Committee shall consist of 4-8 members.
- ii. The committee has one Chair, appointed by the President of the ANS.
- iii. The committee has one Deputy Chair, appointed by the Committee Chair.
- iv. The committee has 2-6 additional members, invited by the Chair and/or Deputy Chair.
- v. Membership is for a term of 3 years.
- vi. Membership can be renewed for 1 term, resulting in total service of 3+3 years.
- vii. The members of the committee should represent the geographical and gender diversity of the members of the ANS, and hold enthusiasm for tertiary teaching.

3. Specific Member Responsibilities

- The Chair will, in consultation with the Deputy Chair, create agendas for all meetings of the Committee and distribute the agendas to all Members ≥ 1 week prior to the meeting date.
- ii. The Chair will chair all meetings of the Committee, ensuring all agenda items are covered and all Members are afforded equal opportunity to speak and contribute to discussion and decision-making.
- iii. By appointment by the Chair, or in extenuating circumstances which prevent the Chair from fulfilling their duties, the Deputy Chair will take on the responsibilities of the Chair and become Acting Chair.
- iv. The Deputy Chair will create minutes for all meetings of the Committee and distribute them to all Members within a week after each meeting.
- v. The Chair will provide a quarterly written report to the ANS Council, coinciding with the Council's quarterly meetings, describing the Committee's recent activities.

4. Committee Meetings

- i. The quorum for a meeting of the Committee consists of the Chair or Acting Chair, together with at least three other Members, where all Members have been given ≥ 1 week of notice of the meeting.
- ii. A meeting may not proceed in the absence of the Chair or Acting Chair.
- iii. Each year the Committee will hold three meetings; these may take the format of Zoom/teleconferencing meetings or face-to-face meetings.

5. Current Committee Members

Matthew Kirkcaldie, University of Tasmania (TAS) Kristin Hillman, University of Otago (NZ) Ramesh Rajan, Monash University (VIC) Lyndsey Collins-Praino, University of Adelaide (SA) Alison Canty, University of Tasmania (TAS) Bronwen Connor, University of Auckland (NZ) Kay Double, University of Sydney (NSW)

Gaby Todd, University of South Australia (SA)