Mark Rowe Award

The Mark Rowe Award commemorates the late Australian Professor of Physiology whose major research contributions concerned the neural coding mechanisms and central processing mechanisms of mechanosensory sensation. This Award was established in Mark's name by his wife, Jan Rowe, in 2013. It is awarded annually for the best publication by an early career researcher member of the Society. The successful applicant will receive a certificate and prize money of $1000.


  • The award will be made for a first or senior author publication based on research completed as a PhD student or postdoc, and published within 3 years of the award of PhD (considering career disruptions)
  • Joint first or senior author publications will also be considered.
  • The application must refer to a publication with an electronic or hard publication date (whichever is the earliest) of 2019 as indicated on the published manuscript.
  • Funds should be used for travel to a conference or collaboration.

How to Apply

  • Nominations for the Mark Rowe Award for 2020 are due by COB 26 June 2020 and should be submitted to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Applicants must be Members of ANS. The deadline for the submission of nominations has now been extended to 31 August  2020
  • There is no application form. Applications should include: Evidence of date of award of PhD; PDF of publication; Short statement (maximum 2 pages) of publication's significance.

Past Winners


Xiang Li , Qiongyi Zhao ,Wei Wei , Quan Lin, Christophe Magnan, Michael R. Emami, Luis E. Wearick-Silva, Thiago W. Viola, Paul R. Marshall, Jiayu Yin, Sachithrani U. Madugalle, Ziqi Wang, Sarah Nainar, Cathrine Broberg, Vågbø, Laura J. Leighton, Esmi L. Zajaczkowski, Ke Ke, Rodrigo Grassi-Oliveira , Magnar Bjørås, Pierre F. Baldi, Robert C. Spitale and Timothy W. Bredy (2019) The DNA modification N6-methyl-2’-deoxyadenosine (m6dA) drives activity-induced gene expression and is required for fear extinction Nat Neurosci. 22, 534-544


Benjamin G Trist, Davies, K.M., Cottam, V., Genoud, S., Ortega, R., Roudeau, S., Carmona, A., De Silva, k., Wasigner, V., Lewis, S.J.G., Sachdev, P., Smith, B., Troakes, C., Vance, C., Shaw, C., Al-Sarraj, S., Ball, H., Halliday, G., Hare, D.J. and Double, K.L. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis-like superoxide dismutase 1 proteinopathy is associated with neuronal loss in Parkinson’s disease brain.
Acta Neuropathol. 134, 113-127 (2017).


Brendan Bicknell and Geoffrey Goodhill. Emergence of ion channel modal gating from independent subunit kinetics. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 113, E5288-97 (2016).


Moones Heidari, Daniel M. Johnston, and Liz Milward. Brain iron accumulation affects myelin-related molecular systems implicated in a rare neurogenetic disease family with neuropsychiatric features. Molecular Psychiatry 21, 1599-1607 (2016).


Kalina Makowiecki, Alan R. Harvey, Rachel M. Sherrard and Jennifer Rodger. Low-intensity repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation improves abnormal visual cortical circuit topography and upregulates BDNF in mice. Journal of Neuroscience 34, 10780-10792 (2014)

Mehdi Adibi, James S McDonald, Colin WG Clifford and Ehsan Arabzadeh. Adaptation improves neural coding efficiency despite increasing correlations in variability. Journal of Neuroscience 33, 2108-2120 (2013)

Mehdi Adibi receiving his award from the ANS President, James Vickers


Xin Du, L. Leang, T. Mustafa, T. Renoir, T.Y. Pang and A.J. Hannan. (2012) Environmental enrichment rescues female-specific hyperactivity of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis in a model of Huntington’s disease. Translational Psychiatry 2:e133